Recipe: A Meal You Can Throw Together

I discovered this delicious combination one evening when I was searching through my cupboards for something to eat after a long and exhausting day. I had no idea what I was making, but once I made it it turned out to be one of my go-to meals. While it requires little to no effort to make, it’s still incredibly filling as well as nutritious. With only six ingredients and requiring only three pots, this recipe can be whipped up in no time to wow your roommates or friends!

Just like last time, this recipe is by no means set in stone. I’ve tried quite a few combinations of vegetables, spices, and proteins and–while they all tasted excellent–this is (in my opinion) the tastiest version. That being said, I’m not you! Use what you have around you, add or subtract ingredients to your heart’s content. I doubt there’s a bad way to put this particular meal together. Plus, we would love to hear the fun takes you have on this easy-to-modify dinner!

Lets get cooking

Things You’ll Need:

  • 2 cups of rice (white or brown, though I recommend jasmine rice)
  • 1lb of ground beef, defrosted
  • 1 cup broccoli
  • 1 cup cauliflower
  • 1 cup green beans
  • Curry powder, to taste

How to Make It:

  • Cook beef in a medium frying pan, sprinkling with curry powder while cooking. After the beef is cooked, remove from heat and cover.
  • Add 1/4 cup of water to a saucepan and boil, adding the vegetables once rolling. Cover the pan and allow to simmer for 10 minutes, checking the vegetables periodically.
  • In the meantime, cook your chosen rice as instructed on the packaging.
  • When the rice has finished cooking, add curry powder (to taste) to the pot, and add the remaining ingredients. With the stove on low heat, mix the ingredients together and serve immediately. Enjoy!

Leave a comment